Session 1, Camp Loyaltown

It’s been a whirlwind two weeks but session one is finally coming to a close!I’m not going to lie it has been the most demanding two weeks of my life, working at Camp Loyaltown, but WOW this is the best job/time I’ve had in a long time. I came into camp knowing how hard it would be so its not too much of a shock but the long demanding hours make you completely exhausted and some of the behaviours campers experience can be unnerving. However, this is overshadowed dramatically when I see the campers I’m with laughing, smiling and having a great time. Whether they are swimming or just walking around a smile and a laugh is the best thing ever. I have definitely connected with the campers in my cabin, other campers that I have interacted with and especially my one-to-one camper. 

 
Disabilities is such a taboo topic to talk about but I have to say I love working with these people and I am learning a lot about different disabilities and how every disability is 100% not the same. I have met some amazing people from across the world and become great friends with a lot of people.

I definitely can’t wait for session two to start on Sunday.I had originally planned to blog a lot more but I barely have time to pee never mind write a blog twice a week. Of course it’s for an awesome reason though!

Jamie

Twitter: @JamieArathoon

One Reply to “Session 1, Camp Loyaltown”

  1. Very demanding love but as you say so very rewarding especially when you connect and see them enjoying themselves job well done love the blog and yes disability shouldn’t be such a ta boo subject there are so many disabled people in this world it should be an open subject nowadays people need to be more aware. Keep up the good work love.. Stay safe and enjoy xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

