It’s National Vegetarian Week!

It’s National Vegetarian Week!

16th May-22nd May

happy animals

A week dedicated to promoting vegetarianism and vegetarian and vegan food, what could be better? Using the #nvw16 on social media you can see what foods people are posting and what people are saying about national vegetarian week. I’ll definitely be taking part and taking some people’s food recipes! Since its vegetarian week I thought I’d tell you all a bit about why I am vegetarian and what I like to eat.

I have been vegetarian for over 3 years now and I can honestly say it’s one of the best decisions I have ever made. Before I was vegetarian I only ate chicken and on occasions pork but after reading various books, websites and news articles I decided to become vegetarian to reduce the suffering and pain of animals, live a healthier lifestyle and to help the environment. Did you know?

  • Livestock farming is responsible for almost 20% of all greenhouse gas emissions from human-related activities.
  • Approximately 780 million people worldwide do not have access to clean water however, farming accounts for around 70% of all freshwater withdrawn from lakes, waterways and aquifers.
  • Livestock production is responsible for 70% of the Amazon deforestation in Latin America, where the rainforest has been cleared to create new pastures.
  • A male cow’s natural lifespan is 20 years whereas, the factory-farmed lifespan is 3 to 16 weeks.
  • A dairy cow’s (female) natural lifespan is 20 years whereas, the factory-farmed lifespan is 5-6 years though only a small percentage reach this age due to exhaustion.

As a vegetarian I feel I am helping reduce these stats and helping the environment and the world’s animals. I also have 2 days a week which are fully vegan, and I have vegan butter and almond milk to help. However, I still have eggs (organic only) in my diet and milk, which is added in food such as chocolate or in restaurant food. I’d like to go fully vegan but I would need a lot more information although, I feel I am helping the environment, helping reduce animal suffering and I generally feel much healthier. I thought I would share some photos of vegetarian and vegan food I have made recently (sorry my food presentation is not great!):

Veggie pasta: peppers, courgette, red onion and Quorn chicken. Quick and easy to make.
Falafel salad, I have only just started eating falafel and also have it as a burger or with pita-bread and couscous.
Sweet potato curry, made from scratch. My favourite dinner but takes a while to make.
Veggie bean burgers with cheese, lettuce and chilli sauce.

Thank you for reading and I hope you try some vegetarian and vegan foods this week, use the #nvw16 on social media to find what people are sharing!

Jamie

One Reply to “It’s National Vegetarian Week!”

Leave a Reply

