Singapore, my first journey.

Singapore, my first journey.

My first long-distance journey (13 hours!) and my first travel related blog post.

Singapore was awesome. Besides being extremely hot and humid the one major thing that sticks out is just how organised and clean everything is here. I am a very clean and organised person and I get agitated when stuff isn’t organised so to me Singapore is so appealing. Every MRT (train) I have got on has arrived and left on the dot and they are sparkling clean. This is probably because of the fines you can get from drinking, eating and littering on the trains. Just the love Singaporean’s have for their country and wanting it to be the best is clearly shown.

Marina Bay Sands and Supertree Grove were the first two places we visited and its amazing to think they are only a 5 minute walk from each other which I think is amazing. The business district and high rise buildings are now becoming dominate, however Singapore has kept some off its green spaces. I think it’s even more incredible when the buildings and structures are incorporating plants and flowers into the design. We visited both at day and night and went to the observatory at night. It cost S$23 and the view was really beautiful.

After a long 10km treck around MacRitchie nature reserve which is absolutely beautiful and has lots of monkeys in we were taken to a local Hawker Centre in China town for food which has little tourists visiting. This made everything feel more authentic, like I was actually experiencing the Singaporean culture more than I would be in a restaurant. There were about 50-80 different stores all selling different food from around Asia. I had Thai food for the first time, which was so delicious. Thai kangkong which had a lot of chilli, and a sugar cane and lemon iced drink, with grass jelly for desert. This cost S$9 altogether which is about £4.50, which is so cheap for such great food! The Indian food here is also incredible too, as a vegetarian it is easier to eat Indian food as it is largely vegetarian. All of it tasted amazing and I had never even heard of them before.

The next day we went to the Changi War memorial which was very moving and I got to see a different side of history. This is something I highly recommend to anyone who visits Singapore (http://www.changimuseum.sg/). After walking around the bay and to the Merlion we went to Raffles hotel and had a Singapore sling and relaxed.

Overall, I have got to say Singapore is a great city and I would definitely visit again.

Thanks,
Jamie
Twitter and Instagram: @JamieArathoon

7 Replies to “Singapore, my first journey.”

  1. Glad you like Singapore so far! Today actually marks the 1st anniversary of the death of our founding father Lee Kuan Yew, so if you’re in the vicinity of the Parliament House, the Istana or Duxton, it might interest you to pop by a remembrance site. I understand there are some small exhibits going on there.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Very interesting sounds fabulous and well worth a visit. Enjoy the rest of your stay, love the way you write! Take are , keep safe, loads of love Aunty Jan & Les xxOO

    Like

Leave a Reply

